LoziLu Women’s Mud Run

I got there about an hour and a half early. They sent out a pdf document with the race numbers ahead of time. They also had a table at check in with the printed out version in case you didn’t remember it. Knowing I would not want to drive over 30 minutes home in washed off but still muddy clothes, I brought an entire change of clothes including undergarments in a very large ziplock bag. I also brought a pair of sandals. I grabbed my ID and key fob along with the ziplock bag and headed to check in. Check in was a breeze. They gave me my number and pins after checking my ID and told me to go to the next tent to get my bag. This race gives out nice tote bags instead of shirts. LoziLu_w_JenI found my friend standing on the other side of the check in. We took a couple before pictures after I got my number on. My friend was in the 9:15 wave, so her group headed off to get the official group before picture. Shortly after that, the person from work who I was running with showed up. They decided to get leis and grass skirts for our team of 6. It really worked out well. I then went to the starting line to get a picture of my friend as her wave began. I put my phone, ID, and key fob in the ziplock bag and tucked that in the tote. Then I went over to the bag check area. This is the only race I was not going to take my phone along.

Pre-race group photo

Pre-race group photo

By this time, we headed over for our group prerace photo. We got to the start area just as the wave before us started. We decided to wait for our wave and be in the front. The lady at the front that was telling us when to start did a great job of getting us pumped up and excited.

When it was time, we all took off and immediately hit the obstacle that was going over rather large logs. After this, there was a little bit of a jog to the second obstacle. This one was crawling on your hands and knees through mud under a rope. I lost one of my wrist leis in the mud and another girl had to retrieve her shoe. At this point, our feet were very heavy. Two of the girls took off and we didn’t see them again until the finish. The rest of us stayed together.  One girl was not prepared for the hilly farm and we ended up walking more than running. It was still a good workout.  The next obstacle was a tall ladder wall. The hardest part was getting over the top with our slick muddy feet. After this one there was quite a job before the next obstacle. This is where the girl had to start walking. I was happy to stick with her since I was already huffing. They had cut a path out of the grass so it was easy to stay on it and not get lost.

I can’t quite remember the order of things after this and I have no pictures to help that. Also, I’m pretty sure the picture on the web site is wrong about the obstacles. I’ll just tell you about the ones I can remember. I do remember after the first of 2 water/DJ areas there were some pyramid like hurdles to run over.  The balance beams were one of the easiest things for me. They also had a mud one where you had to go through some ropes. Then there were some chest high hurdle-type things you had to alternate going over and under. There was a maze of tangled ropes to go through.

A little scared going over as it was so high

A little scared going over as it was so high

The tallest one was a cargo net climb. They had an EMT sitting at this one.

Happy to be climbing down

Happy to be climbing down

They also had a line of walls to go over. They had several different sizes. I chose the tallest one for a challenge.

Getting over with muddy hands

Getting over with muddy hands

After 3 attempts, I finally got my muddy hand to grab the top. I pulled myself up and over. My hands were so slick that I couldn’t lower myself all the way down before they slipped off. I landed on my rear, but the soft ground didn’t hurt at all.

Right before I dropped

Right before I dropped

There was one that was a tunnel of tarps that had a hose going in it. It was completely dark until the end since it draped into the ground.

Group hug after going over the wall

Group hug after going over the wall

Towards the end was a big blow up water slide. This was the only obstacle to have a really long line. Luckily, they had a DJ stationed near it. So, we danced while we waited. One lady was having a difficult time with her feet slipping off the steps. It was great to see how encouraging everyone was. One lady even went up behind her to use her hands as footholds. There were 4 paths up, so the 4 of us went up at the same time.

Sliding down the large inflatable water slide

Sliding down the large inflatable water slide

I didn’t realize the bottom was so deep. We all went completely under before getting out.

Group hug in the water at the bottom

Group hug in the water at the bottom

After this, it was a short run to go past the start line just as another wave was starting.

Running to the last mud bath

Running to the last mud bath

Then we had to crawl through some more mud.

I'm in the back left crawling through the last mud bath

I’m in the back left crawling through the last mud bath

Finally, we reached the finish line. The 2 girls that took off were waiting for us. We all joined hands and crossed the line together. They had bottles of water, banana halves, and several different bars and bag of chips and things. It was hard to take anything since our hands were covered in mud. That is one thing I’d suggest they change. Maybe hand those out in a separate are or have a place to rinse your hands. We immediately headed over to get our muddy after picture. Then we waited for the hoses to get the mud off. They were taking shoe donations after the race. So, most people didn’t bother rinsing their shoes. They just pulled them off. I had to untie mine to get them off. So, I rinsed the laces and then pulled them off. After rinsing off as much as possible, we went back to bag check. They had a nice tent area for changing. A very smart woman next to me had brought baby wipes. I got a few from her to get some places I missed. I was so glad I had a complete change of clothes. They did have some food booth and were going to have a party after the last wave, but I had to get home. I do wish I had brought some cash as they had bags of caramel corn. Getting out of the parking area was easy and they did have cops at the entrance to help. This race was very well run and I will do it again.

Post group muddy picture

About kristincooke

I am a mother of 2 that started running in 2012. I also enjoy baking and some crafts.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

