Tinkerbell 10k

 

My 10k outfit with GoPro camera

My 10k outfit with GoPro camera

Back (better view of wings)

Back (better view of wings)

The alarm went off all too soon. We both got up and started getting ready. I was going to wear a GoPro camera on my chest as an experiment. I could not get it to turn on. I finally realized the battery in it was dead and the one on the charger was an after-market one. So, I swapped out the battery knowing my husband had battery life issues with the one I was using. I got it all strapped on and then had Nicki safety pin on my wings instead of using the arm straps. I hardly felt them and they stayed in place the whole time. I highly recommend pinning on your wings. For the 10k, I was in the last corral, D. Nicki was in A. She was excited. I was going to meet someone and was running a little behind. Luckily, so was she. We grabbed bananas and bagels from the breakfast room of the hotel and made our way to the corrals. The entrance to D was shortly after crossing the street from our hotel. It looked like everyone was just starting to file to the corrals. So, we said our goodbyes and Nicki continued up to A while I got into D.

Nicki and her flat person

Nicki and her flat person

I was able to get up within 5 people of the front in part by searching for the person I was meeting. We had about 45 minutes until start. During our 45 minute wait, we had several people realize they were in the wrong corral and have to climb over the barricades. It was a little chilly, so we were dancing around a bit to keep warm. I’m so glad I was meeting Elizabeth. It gave me someone to talk to and a reason to move up a little further. We talked with all the ladies around us. Almost everyone was in some kind of costume. Soon we heard the National Anthem. We also saw some fireworks, but they were way up from us. Soon we were walking slowly forward. We continued this progression through 2 more starting waves. I started the GoPro camera during our last walk forward. Finally, we reached the start line.

Start line

Start line

We had to wait a few minutes before our start. The announcers on the stage to the right were trying to keep us entertained.

Announcers at start line

Announcers at start line

Before I knew it, it was our turn to start. I was in Corral D which was the last start corral for the 10k. As soon as I crossed the speed bumps that were the timing mats, I started my Endomondo app on my phone and my intervals on my watch. The first part goes around Disneyland on main roads.

Entering Disneyland

Entering Disneyland

We entered Disneyland through the backstage area at It’s a Small World.

It's a Small World

It’s a Small World

After running past there, we bared right to go into Toontown. The first characters were in Toontown… Daisy and the female chipmunk.

Daisy and female chipmunk

Daisy and female chipmunk

Just before leaving Toontown into the backstage areas, we hit Mile 1.

Mile 1

Mile 1

While running through the backstage areas, we passed the barns. They had 2 horses out for us to see.

Horses

Horses

The first water stop was also along this backstage stretch. At every water stop, the water is first followed by the Gatorade. I always grabbed one of the first waters and drank it until the Gatorades. Then I grabbed and drank one of those. I used this strategy at all the water stops. There are normally several trash bins on the side of the running area. You do not need to stop at the first one you see but it is nice if you use the bins instead of just throwing it on the ground. Gatorade gets sticky for the runners behind you. After about half of a mile, we re-entered Disneyland by Splash Mountain. The next characters were in front of the Haunted Mansion. It was a ghostly bride and the tight rope girl from the entry pictures.

Undead at Haunted Mansion

Undead at Haunted Mansion

Riverboat

Riverboat

We continued around the river surrounding Tom Sawyer’s Island and past New Orleans Square.

New Orleans Square

New Orleans Square

Right after the square was a line of cast members, some with Mickey Hand gloves on, offering encouragement and high 5s.

Cast members

Cast members

Just beyond them at the Golden Horseshoe were Chip and Dale.

Chip & Dale

Chip & Dale

We continued around Big Thunder Mountain and passed the Ranch. We entered Fantasyland. Mary Poppins and Burt were in front of the carousel.

Mary Poppins & Burt

Mary Poppins & Burt

As we were leaving Fantasyland, we came to Mile 2.

Mile 2

Mile 2

We ran next to the boarded up area for Finding Nemo and into Tomorrowland.

Tomorrowland

Tomorrowland

Buzz Lightyear was in this area.

Buzz Lightyear

Buzz Lightyear

We turned right and head back out towards the castle. The race goes around the circle in front of the castle. I got another nice racer to take my picture in front of the castle.

In front of the castle

In front of the castle

We continued down Main Street towards the park entrance.

Main street

Main street

The medical tent was across from Town Hall before leaving the park.

Town Hall

Town Hall

We left Disneyland and ran across the area between the parks and into California Adventure’s front entrance. This was the area with most of the spectators. We ran down Buena Vista Street and then turned right towards Condor Flats and Soarin’.

Grizzly River Run

Grizzly River Run

We continued around Grizzly River Run and into the Paradise Pier area.

Paradise Pier

Paradise Pier

We got to Mile 3 right in front of the Jumping Jellyfish ride.

Mile 3

Mile 3

Shortly after that was the second water stop. We ran all the way around the World of Color water area and back across the Paradise Pier bridge. As we went right and by the Sonoma Terrace, you could see the runners behind entering Paradise Pier. We turned right into Cars Land.

Cars Land

Cars Land

One of the Hot Rods was sitting in Flo’s V-8 café.

Flo's Café with a hot rod

Flo’s Café with a hot rod

Lightning McQueen and Mater were at the end of the road.

Lightning McQueen & Mater

Lightning McQueen & Mater

We turned left towards bug’s land. The fire engine was off to the left.

the fire engine

the fire engine

We ran around bug’s land the long way and back out by A Bug’s Life.

Leaving Bug's Life

Leaving Bug’s Life

We then turned right towards Buena Vista Street. Some more cast members were lined up outside Carthay Circle cheering us on.

Cast members cheering

Cast members cheering

We veered right towards Hollywood Land.

Hollywood Land

Hollywood Land

At the end of the road we turned right towards Tower of Terror.

Tower of Terror

Tower of Terror

The Monster’s University characters and float were set up right in front of the Tower of Terror where we turned left.

Monsters University characters

Monsters University characters

Here we exited the park through a backstage area. Shortly after exiting and turning left onto Harbor, we got to Mile 4.

Mile 4

Mile 4

I remember at that point wondering how I was going to make it the rest of the way let alone the half the next day. I still had over 2 miles left. I know it was mental, but it was hard. Shortly after Mile 4 was a man holding a funny sign about Olaf.

Great sign!

Great sign!

I think that lifted my spirits. I caught up to Nicki just before we turned right off Harbor. She had been in Corral A and stopped for some pictures. She was walking with a girl that was very out of breath but on the phone with a friend. She told me she wanted to make sure the girl could finish since she was having breathing problems. Shortly after I caught them, the girl’s friend found her. So, we went on together. I walked more with Nicki and didn’t pay attention to my 1:1 intervals from this point on. We did some running but always point to point and not really regular. At this point, the sun was rising bright into our eyes. I was so glad I brought my sunglasses.

Glaring sunrise

Glaring sunrise

There was a group of cheerleaders with a few even doing lifts and tosses.

Cheerleaders

Cheerleaders

Soon we came to Mile 5.

Mile 5

Mile 5

We turned right on Disney Way and headed towards Tower of Terror in the distance.

Tower of Terror in the distance

Tower of Terror in the distance

The third water stop was 1/3 of the way down this road. We turned left onto Harbor and headed in the opposite direction of when we came out of the parks. We turned right on Katella and ran past the Convention Center and a bunch of hotels. WP_20140118_049

Just before we got to our hotel, we turned right on Disneyland Dr.

Paradise Pier hotel

Paradise Pier hotel

We could see Paradise Pier hotel and knew we were close to the end. Shortly before turning into the parking lot and what I consider the finisher’s chute, we got to Mile 6.

Mile 6

Mile 6

About that time, the spectators picked up. We spotted one of Nicki’s friends as we were making the turn into the parking lot. We made a left turn into the parking lot just before Paradise Pier hotel.

Finishing chute

Finishing chute

More finishing chute

More finishing chute

This does a funny S shaped thing before crossing the finish line. Minnie and Goofy were there cheering us in.

Minnie & Goofy cheering through the finish

Minnie & Goofy cheering through the finish

The Finish Line!

The Finish Line!

We walked a little farther and the people were handing out the medals. I grabbed one but Nicki looked for someone who would put it around her neck. Quite smart of her. I got mine around my neck and we went a little farther. On the left was a tent that had bottled water and Gatorade. The mylar blankets were to the right but neither of us felt a need for those this time. I looked down to stop the GoPro camera and it wasn’t running. I was a little disappointed but hoped it at least got some of the race. There were two options at this point, stay to the left for a finisher photo or go right to bypass the photos.

My finisher's picture

My finisher’s picture

The lines were really long for the pictures. We walked all the way to the last station by the food boxes. They had us put our things on the ground and circle around the photographer. I held Nicki’s camera and took her picture and then we swapped and she took mine. They will not take pictures with your camera but people in line were all nice like that. We then went through the food area and each grabbed a banana and a food box. We walked to the left around Paradise Pier hotel. There is a LONG line of port-o-potties here. We didn’t need them. We continued around the corner and got a cast member to take our picture together with our medals.

Two happy finishers

Two happy finishers

About kristincooke

I am a mother of 2 that started running in 2012. I also enjoy baking and some crafts.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

