Tinkerbell Weekend – Friday

Let me start by saying I am going to do a report on my entire weekend and will break it up into pieces. There will be lots of pictures. It’s taking me a while so I wanted to get the first parts up while I’m working on the rest.

I left my house around 8:15 am after dropping the kids off and saying goodbye to my husband. I stopped by a store to grab a protein bar and water for breakfast. I also picked up an orange bracelet from Party City since the one that was being sent never made it. After that, it was time to head to the airport. I had almost no traffic on my way to Park ‘n’ Go. The attendant was pleasant and I easily found a parking spot. Before I had my bag out of the car, the shuttle pulled up. The driver was friendly. I got my purse and carry on while she got my suitcase. I locked up and got on the shuttle. A nice man who worked for Jet Blue was already in board. We made one more stop to pick up and then made our way to the terminal. I can’t emphasize enough how easy and quick this serve really is. Drop off is the first spot at baggage claim. I made my way inside and took the elevator up to ticketing. US Air is a little ways down. I was luckily travelling in First Class thanks to my frequent flier miles. A very helpful male agent helped me check in my bag. I had already printed off my boarding pass at home. This was my first time checking a bag in a while so I wasn’t sure of the process. Zone C was nearly empty for security check. I walked through the line and did the usual TSA checks. It was nice to be early enough that I didn’t feel I needed to check the time while I was waiting.

After clearing security, I made a bathroom stop. Then I decided to just wait at the gate. I was at B10 which is in the end of the B concourse with a cluster of other gates. After reading for about 30 minutes, I thought I better make one more bathroom stop before boarding. Boarding was slightly delayed since we had to wait for the final flight attendant. The process was smooth except for all the people that stood at the entrance. I thought I was in line and it turned out the man in front of me wasn’t boarding. If you’re at the airport waiting on your flight, please stay well clear of the boarding area until you are called. It will make the process a lot easier and fast. Once on the flight, it got interesting.

There was a mother with a young son probably about a year old in first class. She was trying to get people to move around so she could have the front 2 seats. After much discussion and fuss, the older couple that was sitting in front of me moved to the last row in First Class allowing the mother and son to have their seats. Being a mother, I understand the challenge it is to travel. However, this woman was a little bit of a diva at first. Once the plane was in motion, she got her son to sleep and all was pleasant. The rest of the people seemed to board well. We took off slightly late but not by much. While waiting, I had a cup of apple juice. The captain came on to tell us he was retiring in about a month and this would be his last flight to LAX. This is significant because he started his career with West Jet flying out of LAX. It seemed we had to wait a long time to take off and I napped a little. Once we got in the air, I took a quick bathroom break hoping I wouldn’t have to disturb the person next to me again. I was in the window seat. I started watching a movie on my tablet. The flight attendant brought drinks and snacks. Shortly after that, we got warm, moist washcloths. When serving the snacks, she took lunch orders. The choice was a chicken meal or stuffed shell pasta.

Stuffed shells lunch

Stuffed shells lunch

I chose the pasta. The meal was pretty good. Once she cleared the trays, she brought dessert. It was a very yummy carrot cake.

Carrot cake dessert

Carrot cake dessert

My movie ended with a couple hours left on the flight. I decided to use the free feature of their wireless to check flight status. I thought maybe we would be late. Nope. We were supposed to be 10 minutes early. Soon she came around with more snacks and got another drink order. I must say my flight attendant, Beth, did an amazing job of keeping everyone happy in First Class. After my movie ended, I watched the landscape change out the window.

WP_20140117_005WP_20140117_004WP_20140117_007

It was amazing the radical difference that happened. For a while we were over sparsely populate desert. Occasionally we passed a city. Once we crested the last mountain range, it was wall to wall buildings for the last 30 minutes of the flight. I knew LA was heavily populated, but I never expected that much.

Great shot of the Los Angeles river

Great shot of the Los Angeles river

LA from the plane

LA from the plane

We landed without issue slightly early.

WP_20140117_019WP_20140117_021

I made my way to baggage claim. I watched everyone from my flight including the mother and son arrive. I did converse with her and found out her son is slightly older than my daughter, 2 1/2. I guess based on the way she was treating him and the fact that he had heated bottles on the plane, I assumed he was under 2. She seemed like a nice lady and told me their day had started extremely early in upstate NY. After what seemed like forever, our bags finally came. I proceeded outside to find the Prime Time shuttle location. The man there was very friendly and talked to me the whole time. I waited a long time for my shuttle as many others passed. The man said I must have a slow shuttle driver because that was unusual. When it finally showed, he did say it would be better with another driver. Luckily, this company will only circle the airport twice before leaving. I was on the first round, but the second round was quick since there was no one waiting. Soon we were on our way with a total of 4 stops needed. I was luckily the second one. I had texted with Nicki when I landed. She was heading to the Expo and had left a key at the front desk. I enjoyed watching the different areas as we drove. We did hit some traffic so it took a little over an hour to get to my hotel.

WP_20140117_026The man at the front desk was friendly. He chatted with me and made me a key. He told me breakfast would be available at 5. I told him I might need it earlier and he said fruit would be in there to grab whenever I needed it. I took the key and my things and went to the room. Nicki had left her things on one bed, so I set up on the other. I quickly changed my clothes so I could get to the Expo on time. I took what I needed from my purse and put it in my SparkleTech skirt. I also had on my Raw Threads Race you to the Castle shirt. I left the room and walked to the Expo.

WP_20140117_023 WP_20140117_025

I ran into a couple headed the same way at the light. It was starting to get dark, so I was glad I had company. We found the Expo and were told to go out and follow the black carpet to bib pick up. Well, the black carpet went down a road to the parking area they set up in. At this point, there was no wait in any lines. I picked up my 10k bib and half bib. Then I went to the GET Sports booth for my tickets. They had 2 lines for me to sign. I had upgraded the one day, one park ticket I had to buy with the 10k bib from them to a 2 day park hopper. Well, they gave me the park hopper and an additional one day ticket. That was nice and ended up being very useful. I went in to the Expo to get my shirts. Once again almost no lines. I easily got a WXL of each. They ended up being a little big, but I’m fine with that. About this time, Nicki told me the bar was empty and they were heading to the parks. I told her about my bonus ticket and said I would join them shortly. I wandered around the Sparkle Skirts booth and ran into Nora. I’m so glad I finally got to meet her. I decided not to waste time there and continued on to the other booths. I needed another set of calf sleeves since one got lost in the laundry the week before. I found some really nice pink swirly Zensah ones at the first booth I stopped in. That purchase complete, I went straight to the Official Merchandise booth. I was completely shocked when there was no line! I walked around and decided to get my daughter a ‘My mom ran’ shirt and a magnet for myself. Then I went over to the map to find The Stick booth. I had lost my large one since my kids had been playing with it. After talking to the woman at the booth, I had purchased the wrong stick to begin with. So I got a more rigid stick after rolling my leg and hip to test it. WP_20140117_027

California Adventure entrance

California Adventure entrance

With my purchases stashed in my 2 race bags, I made my way to California Adventure where Nicki and her friends were. I walked through Downtown Disney. I was surprised by how completely different it is from the one at Disney World. I went through the bag check and then pulled out my one day ticket at the gate. It looked so much like The Studios in FL where I worked as a teenager.

Mad T Party entrance

Mad T Party entrance

After consulting with a map, I found the Mad T Party where they were hanging out. I loved the atmosphere. It reminded me of Pleasure Island.

Performers

Performers

There were some ladies performing on a suspended cube. It made me think of my cousin who does that kind of thing. After finding my way around the stage, I spotted the arcade. I wasn’t sure at first if I had found the right people since they were involved in a heated game of basketball toss. Once it was over, Nicki saw me and introduced me to her friends. We played a few more games and then headed out into the park. We headed over to Cars Land so I could see it. I was hungry so we stopped at the cozy cone.

Dinner - pretzel bites and apple freeze

Dinner – pretzel bites and apple freeze

I got pretzel bites with cheese and an apple freeze. The apple freeze reminded me of LeFou’s Brew at Disney World. They decided they needed to get their friend on Mater’s ride to hear her scream. When we got over there, I still had most of my drink left. They decided to walk around a little while I finished. I think we walked over by Paradise Pier and took the bread tour. You get a slice of sourdough bread when entering the tour. It is an interesting process to watch. After finishing the tour, we went back to the tractor ride. It is on 2 spinning disks that the tractor moves between. You are in the wagon behind the tractor and get whipped back and forth. WP_20140117_034

Nicki getting in the tractor

Nicki getting in the tractor

Nicki and friend during the ride

Nicki and friend during the ride

Nicki sat with her friend that would scream and I sat with the other friend. It was a fun ride. When it was over, they decided they needed something to eat and headed to Flo’s V-8 café.

Cars Land

Cars Land

I was still full from my pretzel bites, so I grabbed a table. We ate outside and had a nice view of the Radiator Springs Racers. Warning, the chairs here are metal and do get cold with the weather. After they were done eating, we decided to head over to World of Color. Once we got over there, Nicki remembered the fast passes. Since we couldn’t find a good spot, they decided just to wait until the next day and get fast passes. The friends were tired and decided to go back to their room. Nicki and I decided to go on one more ride. We tried California Screamin’, but it was already closed for World of Color. So, we went and got in the single rider line for Radiator Springs Racers. We waited less than 30 minutes and ended up in the same car in different rows. It is a great ride that looks just like the movie. There is one part where you split off before racing. We went through the paint shop. Our car lost, but we had a blast. By this time, it was only about 10 minutes until closing. World of Color area

So we made our way back to Paradise Pier hotel where Nicki’s friends were staying. She had left her Expo bags in their room earlier. They were both awake when we got there. We hung out for a few minutes, but needed to get back to our room since we had an early wake up for the 10k in the morning. The walk back to our hotel wasn’t bad. We were a little on edge since we had read about some assaults that had happened in the area. We got back to our room without incident. We set alarms for 3:30 am and got ready for bed. I set out what I would wear for the next morning. It turns out we both like falling asleep with the TV on. So, Nicki figured out the sleep timer and we went to sleep. I actually fell asleep fairly quick and slept good.

About kristincooke

I am a mother of 2 that started running in 2012. I also enjoy baking and some crafts.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

