Princess Weekend 2014 – Part 5 – Sunday

Sunday Post- Half

Ready for the parks

Ready for the parks

Once back at the room, Jamie showered. After putting my phone on the charger since it was almost dead, I changed into my swimming suit and used my new flip flops to go down to the pool. I went to the pool beside our room and not the main one. It was a little cool, but that was good on my muscles. Unfortunately, there were no towels around this pool, only towel returns. I soaked for about 15 minutes while talking to others who had run the race or supported someone who did. I then swam a slow lap before getting out and heading back to the room. Jamie was napping when I got back. I showered and relaxed a little. I called my family and talked to them a bit. Then we both got ready and headed over to Magic Kingdom. While waiting for the bus, we met our travel agent. We chatted to her the whole ride over. Once we got to the entrance, our magic bands both worked for entry. I checked my watch on the other side and realized it was just before 2. My ticket shouldn’t have worked before 2. I guess they were a little lenient on that one. Originally, we were going to participate in the scavenger hunt our travel agent was doing at 2. However, our legs were tired and we decided it would not be a good idea.

Main Street view of the castle

Main Street view of the castle

We walked down Main street and saw the band.

Band playing on Main Street

Band playing on Main Street

We were both a little hungry but knew our early dinner wasn’t that far away. So, we headed over to get Dole Whips to use a snack credit. We had yet to use one and we had 3 each.

Aloha Isle line

Aloha Isle line

Aloha Isle menu

Aloha Isle menu

Dole Whip

Dole Whip

We walked back towards the castle area to sit and eat them. We caught part of the show there.

Show in front of castle

Show in front of castle

Then we walked over to Winnie the Pooh. Being from CA, I wanted Jamie to see everything they don’t have at Disneyland. The wait wasn’t too long and we were both wearing our Glass Slipper medals. All the cast members and a lot of the guests kept congratulating us. Jamie enjoyed the ride. It was then time for our Fast Passes to Little Mermaid. Jamie had not yet seen this in DCA. We got a good view of the Snow White and the Seven Dwarves mine train coaster that will be opening soon on our way.

Seven Dwarves mine train coaster

Seven Dwarves mine train coaster

We walked in to Little Mermaid with no issues using the magic bands and had almost no wait. It is a cute ride. We still had time before our dinner reservations. So, I took Jamie over to the Circus area.

Entrance to Circus area

Entrance to Circus area

We saw the end of the clowns’ show.

Clown show

Clown show

We walked all around and saw the Dumbos and water play area. I also pointed out the small roller coaster. I knew she was planning a trip with her nephew soon. We still had time, so we walked over to the Rapunzel area. I needed to charge my cell phone since it was almost dead. I knew there was a charging station over there. While Jamie used the bathroom, I found the chargers after asking a nice custodial cast member. Unfortunately, you need a cable to plug in to charge your phone. I had not brought mine with. It was almost time for our reservation, so we went back to Be Our Guest. We almost immediately ran into Naomi and her friend. They had already checked in. The other couple meeting us texted that they were on the way. We asked about combining into one table of 6, but they couldn’t do that. So, we just asked to be seated by each other. As soon as Julie and Bobby got there, I checked in and got our pager. We talked for only a few minutes before our pager went off. The hostess gave me the candelabra to carry.

I carried the candleabra

I carried the candelabra

After showing us around briefly, we were seated in the main ballroom area. The napkins on the plates do look like roses.

Rose napkin

Rose napkin

All 4 of us were on the dining plan. We chatted while deciding what to order.

Be Our Guest menu

Be Our Guest menu

Page 1

Page 1

Page 2

Page 2

Soon, Naomi and her friend were seated right next to us. It was loud enough that it was hard to chat with them, though. Jamie got the lamb and I got the seafood.

Lamb dinner

Lamb dinner

Seafood dinner

Seafood dinner

Our server, Joe, was very friendly and entertaining. After a wonderful dinner, they brought the dessert cart. Jamie and I both got the lemon cupcake.

Lemon cupcake

Lemon cupcake

Bobby got the strawberry.

Strawberry cupcake

Strawberry cupcake

Julie got the grey stuff.

The grey stuff

The grey stuff

All the desserts were yummy. I almost forgot it was a cupcake since the wrapper is stiff plastic and I ate it with a fork like cake. Soon, we said our goodbyes. I wanted to check out all the other rooms before I left. The west wing is very well themed and has the torn picture and rose under glass. The rose does look like it has petals falling.

Rose in West Wing room

Rose in West Wing room

The picture on the wall changes slowly from man to beast with each lightening strike.

West wing room

West wing room

The other room that is mainly used for lunch is much brighter. It has a music box like figure spinning in the middle.

Third room with music box style centerpiece

Third room with music box style centerpiece

It also has lots of pictures of scenes from the movie on the walls.

Walls of third room

Walls of third room

More third room

More third room

On the way out, you visit the Beast. We asked about bathrooms and were told to use them before getting in line. So, we found the bathrooms and then came back. This is a great way to allow for pictures and not disrupt the dining. The line moved well and the cast members were nice.

Picture with the Beast

Picture with the Beast

After taking the picture, you pass through the gallery with armor. This looks to be the line for ordering during lunch.

Exit through suits of armor and lunch order line

Exit through suits of armor and lunch order line

We still had a little bit of time before our Fast Pass to meet Cinderella. I had noticed during our run that the guest princess listed with her for today was Sleeping Beauty. She is my favorite princess so this was perfect. We decided to wander back over to Rapunzel’s tower and see if I could borrow someone’s cable. When we got there, no one was around to ask. So, I gave up the idea of charging in the park. I will remember to bring a cable with me next time. We walked around by the Haunted Mansion which had quite a line. Then we circled back to Fantasyland. It was time for our meet. There were no lines out front. It took a minute to figure out where we needed to go. Once inside, we did have a short wait. The line looks like the inside of a castle. When it was finally our turn to get in the area with the princesses, we passed a display of the glass slipper.

Glass Slipper display

Glass Slipper display

Then we put together all the medals. Jamie carried the Tinkerbell ones and I had the 10k and half from Princess and Coast to Coast. Jamie decided I should go first and she would take pictures and then we would switch. When I went up to meet Cinderella, she was great. She saw my Glass Slipper medal and showed me that it looked like her shoe.

Cinderella showing me her shoe

Cinderella showing me her shoe

The character interaction in these is great.

Love the Cinderella medal picture

Love the Cinderella medal picture

I was skeptical about this type of meet and greet, but it is a much better experience. I’m sure it is better for the characters, too. It is a controlled environment both temperature and crowding. Jamie told me to go ahead to Sleeping Beauty before we tried to swap medals.

My favorite princess

My favorite princess

Sleeping Beauty was just as nice.

Sleeping Beauty is awesome!

Sleeping Beauty is awesome!

Then I gave all the medals to Jamie and we did it again. I think this was a great Fast Pass even as an adult. It was nice to get a character picture with all the medals and cleaned up.

We had quite a bit of time before the Fireworks dessert party, so we decided to shop. I needed something for my daughter and she wanted to look for her nephew. We found a store across from the Princess area. It had a bunch of princess dress up things. I ended up getting her a purse and gloves. My husband called during this stretch to tell me my daughter might not be feeling well. I think it was just all the juice she drank. My phone was almost dead. He was worried since we would both be in the air for a 2 hour stretch the next day in case the daycare wanted to send her home. Well, he ended up giving them the name and number of our friend just in case. Luckily it wasn’t needed. I got off the phone with him and found Jamie.

We still had some time, and Jamie was getting a little chilly. So, we were going to go to the shop on Main Street. We ran into them setting up the parade route. Since that would be on the opposite side of where we needed to be for the dessert party, we just went to Tomorrowland. We shopped a little but Jamie couldn’t find a jacket or sweatshirt that she liked. We decided to ride the Peoplemover to kill a little more time. I always love that ride to chill and just move around and people watch. I put my legs up. When we got off, we decided to head over to Tomorrowland Terrace. When we got near, Julie and Naomi flagged us down. They were only a few people in line from the hostess. I’m glad they got there early. Naomi and her friend were seated up front while the Cooke Family was seated on the other side of the walking area.

Card on table

Card on table

We immediately got in the line for desserts. I filled one plate full and went back to the table.

My plate from the dessert buffet

My plate from the dessert buffet

This was our view of the castle.

View of castle from our table

View of castle from our table

The buffet had so many dessert.

Dessert buffet

Dessert buffet

More desserts

More desserts

They also had some fresh fruit and toppings for the ice cream they were hand serving.

fruit and ice cream toppings

fruit and ice cream toppings

Cast member scooping ice cream

Cast member scooping ice cream

They had juice, coffee, tea, and sugar free hot cocoa. I made myself some cocoa. We all sat and ate and talked while waiting for the fireworks. Our seats would have been good except the people further back stood at the rail to watch. I don’t blame them since that is what we were told. We ended up getting up at one point and standing by the rail, too. I did love the fireworks display. When it was over, we said goodbye after talking a last group shot.

The Glass Slipper Challenge Facebook group from the dessert party

The Glass Slipper Challenge Facebook group from the dessert party

We all met on the Glass Slipper Challenge Facebook group. I hope that group continues to be a positive, supportive group. I plan to continue doing the Glass Slipper with the hopes of getting legacy status at the 5 year mark like they’ve been doing with other races. At this point, Jamie and I admitted we didn’t care to wait for our Big Thunder Mountain railroad fast pass. We just wanted to get back to the room and get in bed. So, we made our way out of the park and to the bus. We ended up being the last people on the bus and standing up front. We again waited until the Riverside lobby drop off because we didn’t want to get lost. We got back to our room and both were quickly in bed and asleep.

About kristincooke

I am a mother of 2 that started running in 2012. I also enjoy baking and some crafts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Princess Weekend 2014 – Part 5 – Sunday

  1. Great report fab pics

Leave a Reply

