The Chocolate 5k

If you haven’t figured it out by now, I like to be early to races. I had set my alarm for 6 am since start time was 8. I wanted to be out the door about 6:30. Well, the first thing I know, Logan comes into my bedroom and asks how long until we needed to leave. I looked at the clock and it was already 6:45. I jumped up and started a little panic and rather sternly told him to go and get ready quickly. I had never been happier to have picked out all our clothes the night before. We got out the door about 7. It was about a 35 min drive so I knew we wouldn’t have long before the start. It was a little chilly out that morning, too. The drive to Reedy Creek Greenway had no traffic. I talked to Logan on the way and calmed us both down.

Ready to Race

Ready to Race

When we pulled into the parking lot, there were several people coming in behind us. We had no trouble finding the designated area and there was plenty of parking. The line to get the bibs was really long. Logan was getting cold waiting so I held him close for warmth. We talked to the guy in front of us in line. They made a short announcement about getting people through the line quickly and starting on time. Well, we ended up getting through with about 10 minutes to spare. I got a bib, safety pins, and a shirt. I should have gotten the smallest shirt and given it to Logan, but I forgot. He was too young to officially sign up but I did contact the race director and he said it would be okay for Logan to run with me. So, I went back to the car to drop off the shirt. I left my windbreaker in the car, too. I knew I would warm up once I started running. We walked back to the start line to wait. At this point, I think everyone had their bibs. They made an announcement about it being not stroller friendly which is funny since they billed it as a family race. I did know it would be through trails, so I was prepared. They made some announcements and then we were on our way.

I knew we would be slow, so we didn’t start right in the front. We did start about halfway. Some people passed us in the beginning and we did pass a few. Soon we hit the trails. I was doing my 1:1 intervals and Logan didn’t like that. He was speedy and ended up running a little ahead. As long as I could see him, he was okay. The other runner were great, too. The running community in general is so friendly. Most of the race is on true trails. I lost my balance once but did recover before going down. I saw and heard Logan trip a few times and know he fell down completely once. We also passed a lady struggling with a stroller at one point. The original info said there would be tables with water and chocolate every 1k. Well, either due to the pending rain or the inaccessibility of the trails, there were no stops. At about Mile 2, Logan did not want to run anymore. So, I walked with him. He is 5 ½ and this was his first 5k. At that point, he was telling me he didn’t like it and he just wanted to be done.

Many people passed us during this walking mile. He did jog a few downhill parts. Eventually, we got close to the finish. This part was on gravel and paved roads. When he could see the finish line, Logan pretty much sprinted. Needless to say I didn’t have that much of a kick. He did get me running faster on the first 2 miles, though.

Post-race - so proud of my son

Post-race – so proud of my son

After we crossed the line, they handed each of us a bag full of Ghiradelli chocolate squares. We continued walking to the pavilion area where we got water and Choc-ola. Logan loved the Choc-ola. I also remembered to return the timing chip from my shoe. We hung around for a few minutes and an after picture. Then, we headed home. It started raining on our way. We were happy it had waited until we were done running. My official finish time was 45:48. Once we got home, Logan was super happy and told his dad all about the race. He wanted to do another one. I’m so proud of him and did enjoy this race. I have decided that although I am slower, I just really enjoy trail races. I’ll have to find some more to fit into my race schedule.

The Loot

The Loot

About kristincooke

I am a mother of 2 that started running in 2012. I also enjoy baking and some crafts.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

