Reindeer Romp 5k 2014

After talking to Nicki about local races, I decided to run the Reindeer Romp 5k. It is at the Harris YMCA which is pretty close to home. My son was going to run with me, but decided he’d rather do the kids fun run. About 2 weeks from the race, I found out my husband would not be available to watch my daughter. I was able to get Miss Shane from Logan’s after school program to meet me there and watch the kids while I ran.

We left the house with plenty of time. It was cold so I didn’t want to be outside too long. We parked and walked around to find the bibs. There was a DJ playing songs and blowing bubbles. The kids thought it was great. I got my bib and really nice, thick, hooded sweatshirt. We went back to the car to leave my sweatshirt and get things ready. When it was almost time to meet Shane, about 20 minutes before race time, we walked back to the DJ. They had to use the bathroom, so we walked inside to the nice heat. We all used the bathroom and then headed back out to the DJ again. He was using the fog machine to blow bubbles now. The kids thought that was awesome as popping a bubble would result in a small burst of fog. Shortly after we got there, Miss Shane found us. She was awesome and even brought a whole bag of things to keep the kids entertained.

Soon they were calling for us to go to the start area. Shane brought the kids to see me off. I ran into a lady from The Scream. We chatted before the start. There were some great costumes and decorated strollers. Then it was time to start. This race winds through neighborhoods around the YMCA.

The area is very nice. There were a few people up cheering us on. I ended up behind a couple for a while that took my mind off the race. She was dressed as a leg lamp and he was in the pink bunny outfit.

I was making good time partly because I wanted to see Logan run the kids race.

Before long, I was getting close to the Y and the finish line. The crowd around the Y was great and very encouraging.

I sprinted across the line and went to get my medal. I’m not sure if it was on purpose, but the ribbon was only long enough to put around your wrist. As I walked back towards the DJ to find the kids, they were walking towards the track for the kids races.

The kids races were not well organized. Two ladies were trying to arrange the start line.

They never told the kids where to run or how many laps. Soon, they all just started. My daughter decided she wanted to run with me, too. So, I trotted beside her as my son took off. All the kids ran the same distance, 1 lap. My daughter walked a good portion, but never wanted to quit. I’m so proud of her. When we crossed the line, I saw my son. He told me he was 9th, although the video we have would contradict that. I’m just glad he had a good time. All the kids got a nice medal with ribbons that were really long. We then went back to the DJ area to find the hot chocolate. By this time, the line was super long so I told the kids I would just take them to Starbucks. We did grab bagels and bananas, I think we even had some sweets. We also ran into Santa and Mrs. Claus. Of coarse, we had to get a picture.

Overall, this race is well run and the swag is awesome for the price.

Unless something else turn up that weekend, this race will be one to do again.

My official time was 39:27 which is about average for me.

About kristincooke

I am a mother of 2 that started running in 2012. I also enjoy baking and some crafts.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

