Reindeer Romp 5k 2015

This is the second year I’ve done this race. I have to admit, I really like it. The kids also love it because they do the kids run and get medals. I decided to use a costume idea I had seen in one of my running groups online. It seemed appropriate for a holiday run.

If you can’t tell… I’m the red Starbucks cup.

This race is run by one of the local YMCAs in the area. However, no one thought anything was controversial about my costume. I have to admit, this is the first time I’ve had several people ask to have their pictures made with me. That was a nice feeling.

I didn’t take as many pictures this year. I still like the course. It has a few hills, but nothing too bad.

Aside from the main road coming back to the Y, this is all through neighborhood roads. There is a water stop between Mile 1 & 2.

Still in the neighborhoods for Mile 2 sign.

We were on the main road back to the Y before Mile 3. In fact, Mile 3 was actually in the Y parking lot that we had to run through.

After this sign, you turn right and run through a little gazebo area. Then you turn right and have a packed dirt straight away to finish. That is a nice part.

The kids had 3 options; short, medium, or long. Both my 7 year old boy and 4 year old girl chose long. You do not have to sign up for the kids races. They started a short distance from the finish. The short distance was a straight up to the gazebo and then down the straightaway. The medium was a cut across by the playground and then around the track to the straightaway. The long course went right and all the way around the perimeter track to the straightaway. My daughter insisted I run with her. I was tired from the 5k. Both my kids did well.

My son is in the yellow shirt.

My daughter was so proud of herself for doing the long course.

They got the same medals I got from the 5k. I found out the reason the ribbons are so short is so they can be used as decorations on the Christmas Tree.

This race gives out nice hooded sweatshirts with the bibs. It is well run with great people and offerings. In addition to bananas, bagels, and water, they had Dunkin Donuts giving away coffee, hot cocoa, and donuts. Of coarse my kids wanted donuts. I got to the front and they joking said I couldn’t have any since I was the competitor’s cup. I will be back.

About kristincooke

I am a mother of 2 that started running in 2012. I also enjoy baking and some crafts.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

