Super Run 4 Miler

I signed up for this one about a month before the race when I knew I wouldn’t be going to the Super Bowl (although my Panthers were there). My big push was that they were offering a medal this year. I ran this last year with Nicki and enjoyed it. Nicki also signed up for this only a couple weeks out.

I got up and out the door later since I stopped the day before to pick up my bib, shirt, and pint glass. This run gives away some serious swag! Nicki beat me there because she had to get her stuff that morning. It was rather cool. By the time I got there and parked in the deck across from the stadium, Nicki was back waiting in her car. We only had about 30 minutes to start, so we left our warm cars. We took pre-race pictures around by the entrance closest to the parking deck.

Then we walked to the start/finish line area. You could hear the DJ on the corner, but not very well down the street by the line.

Eventually, we heard the National Anthem. I think they attempted to do a Dab picture, but we really couldn’t hear them. So, not many people were Dabbing. Nicki and I positioned ourselves near the back since we know we are slower. I let Nicki set the intervals and pace. I didn’t remember last year’s race very well because Nicki said the course was the same. There were a lot of parts I just do not remember for the year before.

We got to Mile 1 in the Gateway area right by Trade Street.

We saw one group of people taking drinks out of a backpack. It looked like they planned to do a round of drinks at each mile. We wound around and ran passed the start/finish area just before Mile 2. Mile 2 was along Stonewall just after that area.

The only water stop was one block after the Mile 2 marker.

We continued on Stonewall until we got to McDowell. Mile 3 was on McDowell shortly before we turned on Morehead.

We keep going until Mint Street. Then we turn and run under the bridge. The finish line is just past the bend of the stadium a little more than halfway to Stonewall.

Nicki has a much faster kick than me to the finish. She crossed one second ahead of me. I must has crossed the start one second in front of her because we had the same chip time… 56:21. That’s a pretty respectable time when you consider we were taking this one easy and walking a lot of Morehead with the uphill sections. This is a fun race and the medals were nice.

They even had a bottle opener built in. I will definitely consider this one next year if I can fit it in my schedule.

About kristincooke

I am a mother of 2 that started running in 2012. I also enjoy baking and some crafts.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

