Princess 2016 – Sunday

After getting cleaned up and changed, we caught a bus to Disney Springs. We had a late lunch reservation at Morimoto Asia. I wanted to take advantage of not being on the dining plan to try a new restaurant. Disney Springs still has a lot of construction going on, but it is nice.

After consulting the map at the bus depot, we took the bridge over the water to the other side.

It has a great view of the area.

When we got to Morimoto Asia, they had the lunch menu displayed outside.

The building is beautiful.

Every place setting had a water glass, plate, napkin, and chopsticks.

After we ordered, they brought the soy sauce out in this cute container.

Jamie and I both got the Lunch Box (with some differences). It started with soup and salad. I thought the plate/bowl setting was really ingenious.

I had the Kung Pao chicken with California roll in brown rice.

Katie got rice and egg rolls.

Jamie had the fish and California roll with brown rice.

Overall, it was a tasty lunch. It is pricey, but so is most of Disney. I would not bring my kids here as they are not big Chinese food fans. However, I would consider coming back myself.

After lunch, we decided to head back to the room for some pool time. We chose to soak in the smaller, Martinique pool. My feet were sore so Katie graciously took all 3 refillable mugs to the food court and brought them back full. We hung out in the pool for a while. Then we went back to the room. We had a late reservation at 1900 Park Fare for the Cinderella character dinner there. So, we decided to leave a little early and check out the new Trader Sam’s Grog Grotto at the Polynesian.

We took the bus to Magic Kingdom. We thought about taking the boat over from there, but it filled up and we would have had a 20 minute wait. So, we hopped on the resort monorail. After departing the monorail, we went in search of Trader Sam’s. We ended up on an outdoor patio. I knew that wasn’t right. So, we back tracked to a door we had seen. It almost felt like we were going somewhere we shouldn’t have been. Once we opened the door, it was amazing. The atmosphere is great.

We found out underage people are allowed there before 8 PM. There are several different areas to sit. We got lucky and someone was leaving a round table when we got there.

Our table had lots of pictures dealing with 20k Leagues on the walls.

It seems like every drink has some thing the servers will make interactive with the crowd. It was almost like a show just hanging out for a while. We each ordered a different drink.

The drinks were quite good. I got the Pearl one but would probably try something else next time. The Pearl and the ceramic one were souvenir glasses. The pearl I took as is. The ceramic one they gave you a pre-boxed cup on the way out. Overall, this was a great experience and I look forward to spending time here when I come in April for Star Wars Dark Side.

We left about 15 minutes before our reservation. When we got to Grand Floridian, we found the other members of our party and checked in. We only had a brief wait before they seated us. The characters were already out and interacting with people as we were seated. One of the first ones we saw was Lady Tremaine. She asked to wear our medals and I gave her my half.

She was amazing with the interaction! She was probably my favorite part. After seeing her, I went and got my plate of food.

I had to get a bowl of the Strawberry Soup. I even turned a few of my tablemates onto the soup. Most thought it sounded strange until the tried it.

We also saw Prince Charming.

And, of coarse, Cinderella was there.

The step sisters were not there that night. They did have a mouse.

I got a full plate of desserts, too. I had to try just about everything.

Cinderella and Prince Charming dance several times during the course of the meal.

Overall, the character interaction was great. The food was also good especially for a buffet. It was definitely worth it to get good character pictures with no wait.

Once the meal was over, we took the monorail to Magic Kingdom and the the bus back to Caribbean Beach. We tried to tidy up before bed since the next day was check out.

About kristincooke

I am a mother of 2 that started running in 2012. I also enjoy baking and some crafts.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

