Shamrock 4 Miler 2016

This was the first race of the Run For Your Life series of 6 races. This year, they are giving out medals at all the races. The medals will hook together and have the company logo on the back once complete. I knew I didn’t want to miss this race even though I wasn’t feeling great.

I got up and dressed and headed over. I was early since I had to pick up my bib there. I ran into Nicki and Robert on my way to the table. They had another friend with them. I chatted for a minute and then went to get my things. While waiting in line, I ran into another of my friends from my Bunco group. Her and her friend were decked out in style for the race. I got my number and shirt and headed back to my car. On the way, I ran into my former co-worker, Sam. It was great to talk to him since I haven’t seen him in over a year. Then I ran into another friend from Bunco. I told her where I had last seen the first one I ran into. I finally got back to my car and dropped the shirt. I put on my bib and grabbed my themed headband. On my way to find Nicki and Robert again, I ran into another former co-worker, Chris. I talked to him for a while until I saw Nicki and Robert. I never realized how many people I knew. It was almost time for the race to start, so we walked to the back of the pack. I had Nicki take my pre-race picture.

This course was slightly different from the last time I ran it. We started in the parking lot. The start/finish line was in the parking lot by the movie theater shortly before the entrance on Elm.

Soon we were off. We were trying to all run as a group with Nicki’s intervals. Once on Elm, we turned left. At Ballantyne Commons, we turned to the right. Not too far up Ballantyne Commons, Robert and I ended up pulling ahead of Nicki and their other friend. We kind of laughed because we were trying to follow her intervals but she forgot to let us know. Soon, we came to Mile 1.

We continue on the same road doing basically an out and back. This is a rather busy road and the cops did a great job controlling the traffic.

Next came a water stop for both sides.

We finally got to the turnaround at Mile 2.

Then we passed the other side of the water stop.

At this point, I was really starting to feel it. I was hoping it was more from me not feeling good than being out of shape. We crossed back over to the other side of the street before Mile 3.

I had to do longer walk breaks at this point. We turned left onto Ballantyne Trace Ct just before Elm. It has some hills. I think we walked the whole thing.

We turned left on Elm and I continued to walk since it was still going uphill and I wanted to run to the finish strong. Nicki and her friend passed me.

We turned right into the shopping center and downhill to the finish.

I did finish strong and got an official time of 56:43. It’s not great, but I consider it a triumph since I learned later in the week that what I was feeling was the start of the H1N1 flu. The flu shot I had in the fall might have lessened it somewhat, but I was still down for most of a week.

This race is well run and the activities at the finish line were great. We even got a group picture with the Easter bunny!

They had a display of the series of medals. We were very happy to get our first at the end of the race. They had sent out a message that the first so many finishers would get medals. We were so afraid of being too slow and not getting a medal we’d need to complete the series. I’m not sure if they ran out, but we did notice everyone we saw with medals.

Aside from one bad experience in the past, Run For Your Life puts on great races and they do listen to feedback. This is one race I wouldn’t mind doing every year.

About kristincooke

I am a mother of 2 that started running in 2012. I also enjoy baking and some crafts.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

