Star Wars Dark Side – Dapper Day

Jamie and I were both exhausted after the 10k. So, I cleaned up and then we both took naps. It was Dapper Day at Magic Kingdom, so I got all dolled up. Jamie was still sleepy. I went ahead and left for Magic Kingdom. She said she’d join me later. One of my high school friend was already out and I wanted to see her. So, I caught the bus to Magic Kingdom in my Star Wars themed dress and Oofos. I decided my feet needed the comfort after the 10k knowing I was running the half the next day. I made it through the gates and to the area in front of the castle admiring the other Dapper people on the way. There were tons of Dapper people in the circle with the Partners statue. That’s where I found my friend, Anna. She got this picture of me.

The plan was to dance with the Move it! Shake It! Celebrate It! dance party and then make our own parade following the float to the train station. Nick Wylde and Judy Hopps were on the main float.

This was the scene of us following the last float.

We took a group picture by the fire station. Then I walked with my friend, Anna, to Casey’s. It was super crowded so her group decided to eat at the Columbia Harbor House. About that time, Jamie made her way to the park. So, I left Anna and went to find Jamie. We walked to the castle and got this good picture in my dress.

Originally, we were going to eat the Pinocchio Village Haus. However, when we got there the wait was crazy. So, we decide to go to Columbia Harbor House to get something different from a counter service place. Once we got our food, we went upstairs to sit. I got the tuna fish (Anchors Aweigh) sandwich with chocolate cake and Jamie got the chicken pot pie with the cobbler.

After lunch, we headed back to the front for our meet and greet with Mickey Mouse. I love this Mickey Mouse meet and greet because he talks to you.

As we were leaving, Jamie got her picture with this Goofy statue on the bench.

We then headed over to the Haunted Mansion for our next Fast Pass. On the way I got my castle picture.

The photographer told me to look like I was flying away. I thought she was going to do something special with the picture, but it turned out plain.

It was nice to not have to wait in the line for the Haunted Mansion. The line inside was huge. I’m not sure what happened, but they were cramming people in. Eventually, the line moved and people weren’t too rude about it. Jamie liked the WDW version. I’ve never seen the DL version so I have no comparison.

We still had time before our dinner reservations, so I asked Jamie if she wanted to see the Country Bear Jamboree. Apparently, this was at DL but was taken away to make room for something else. So it is Disneyland’s Mr. Toad. She was actually excited to watch it. We had no wait since the show was loading. We grabbed the end of one bench towards the back and enjoyed the show. It is classic audio-animatronics, but a nice show. As we were leaving, we caught this musical group that my family had enjoyed a few weeks earlier.

Sometimes the nicest things are the things that you just happen upon and enjoy. At this point, it was time for our dinner reservation. We made our way back up Main Street to Tony’s. We sure did a lot of back and forth in the park.

We checked in and took a seat in the waiting area. We saw this Star Wars Dapper family waiting, too.

Tony’s has a nice, one page menu.

We were seated in a corner of the room. I remembered sitting on the terrace area last time. Honestly, the quiet corner was nice. They first brought us some delicious bread.

I got the shrimp scampi.

Jamie got the cannelloni.

They brought out a dessert menu when we were finished.

I got the Pistachio Creme Brulee.

I love Pistachios and Creme Brulee so it didn’t take long for this to happen.

I had to get a picture of the fountain as we left. Our seats were actually back to the right of this.

Our next stop (and last Fast Pass) was the Seven Dwarfs Mine Train. We were in the very last seat of the train.

I made it all the way to the last turn before my headband came off.

It appeared there were several hats in the same turn. I’m glad I had all my pictures done already. At this point, we were both stuffed from dinner and tired. So, we decided to head out. This was our view from the castle as we headed out.

I love the exit sign.

We got on the resort monorail because we were hoping to grab a quick drink at Trader Sam’s. When we got there, the wait was over an hour. There was no way we could wait that long and get enough sleep for the half. So, we grabbed the resort monorail back to Magic Kingdom and hopped a bus to the resort from there. We met several people dressed for Dapper Day just getting to Magic Kingdom.

Overall, I really enjoyed Dapper Day and would definitely participate again if I was in the area.

We got back to our room and I made sure to put my bib on my half shirt. I was not going to repeat the Princess half where I left my challenge bib on my 10k shirt and had to get another one. We got into bed and fell asleep quickly.

About kristincooke

I am a mother of 2 that started running in 2012. I also enjoy baking and some crafts.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

