Star Wars Light Side – Sunday

I hurried back to the room to shower and change. I knew we had to check out. After trying to call the front to get a late check out, I sent Debbie to the Club to ask while I finished getting ready. She got us an extra 15 minutes. While I was frantically packing everything up, she told me she had seen me finish from the Club while drinking her coffee. That really let me know that getting us club level for this trip was worth it. Right at the appointed time, we left the room. It was a little bittersweet.

We walked down to the front desk and checked out. Then we left our bags with the bell desk. Finally, we headed to Goofy’s Kitchen for our last character meal.

This is such a popular meal that we had to wait to check in.

The first thing they have you do is take your picture with Goofy.

Then you sit and wait until they call you for your table. It didn’t take too long before they called us. We were seated not too far from the entrance. The characters were coming around to our section as we sat. So, I waited to get the first couple pictures.

Chip

Pluto

Then I got a plate of food. We were right at the end of breakfast and the beginning of lunch.

Soon we got to see the last 2 characters:

Minnie

and Dale

Then we both grabbed some dessert.

We both agreed that the Minnie and Friends breakfast at the Plaza Inn was much better both with characters and food. If you’re only going to do one character meal, that should be it.

After finishing up, we headed to Disneyland. Since the one thing I really wanted to do was Hyperspace Mountain, we decided to take the monorail.

Once we were there, the Fast Pass was already later than we could stay. The standby line was only showing 40 minutes. So, I jumped into the line while Debbie sat in the area and people watched. It turned out to be longer than a 1 hour wait. The line is on top of the building which is strange.

It had a different view of the Matterhorn.

I could see Debbie from the line.

Eventually we made it inside.

The Disneyland version has cars that are 2 people wide.

I know that Disneyland and Walt Disney World versions of Space Mountain aren’t identical. I will say, I wish they’d bring this overlay to Walt Disney World. I thought it was awesome! If you don’t know about Hyperspace Mountain, they’ve put a Star Wars twist on the ride. It really added something to it.

As usual, they did have a picture of every car available at the end.

Once I was done with the ride, I found Debbie. We made our way over to the Hyperion theater in DCA. This was the last must do thing we had left. As we got to the front, we found out the next show was completely full. We found out from the cast member what time would be good to return to make the next show. Then, we set off to do other things.

I’m pretty sure this was when we went to the Animation Academy again. We didn’t even look at what character we’d be drawing. We just wanted to do one. Once inside, we found out we were drawing Jack Skellington. It wouldn’t have been Debbie’s choice of characters, but at least we got to draw again. We did enjoy following the instructions and making our drawings.

I’m not exactly sure what we did after that. I do know it wasn’t too long before we made our way over to the Hyperion theater. This was our last chance to make the show and I wanted to make sure we got in. We waited in the lines for about 30 minutes. Then, we finally got into the theater. Our seats had a great view.

From our vantage point, we even had a great view of the chandelier.

This will give you an idea of how they brought Olaf and Sven to life.

Here is the final cast curtain call.

There was one thing that bothered me with this cast… although the people playing Anna and Christophe were amazing singers, let’s just say I don’t think Disney would ever use them for those same face characters in the park. Since this is supposed to take place in Norway, it just threw me off. Overall, it is an amazing show and the effects really add to it.

When we left the show, we had one last thing we wanted to do in DCA. We had to stop by Clarabelle’s and make our own ice cream bars. I’d been telling Debbie about this place all weekend. It was still a bit chilly, but we both enjoyed our creations while watching the Jazz singer on Hollywood Blvd.

We had wanted a picture by the Fun Wheel all weekend but were never able to wait. Well, it turns out there are no PhotoPass photographers there after dark, at least not that we could find. So, we had to take a selfie.

We really only had time for one more thing since we still needed to ship for gifts. So, we headed back to Disneyland for Great Moments with Mr. Lincoln.

We only had to wait for the next showing. If you’ve never been, this show is kind of similar to the American Adventure in EPCOT. The only audio animatronic is Lincoln, though. They have one of my favorite songs as the ending and exit of the theater… Golden Dreams.

One thing I found interesting in the waiting area for the show was this replica of Disneyland in it’s earliest form.

Once the show was over, we ran around like crazy trying to find all the things we wanted for gifts. We finished up and power walked to Disneyland hotel just in time to meet our ride. The ride to the airport was a sad one. It was really too dark to see much and there was still more in the parks that we didn’t get to during our time. Funny that 4 days wasn’t enough to do and see everything.

Once at the airport, we checked our bags and made our way to the gate. We were once again first class and got to board first. Aside from the drink when we got on board, there was no other refreshments since we were on a red eye and most people, ourselves included, slept during the flight. This sums up our feelings of being on the flight home.

Overall this was a great trip and I’m so glad Debbie could come with me. It does show me how difficult it is to combine a race trip with a vacation. I must say I still think Cars Land is the best themed area in any of the Disney parks in the US at this time. I’m not sure when I will be back again. The cross country flight takes more time and planning. I do see myself coming back at some time in the future, though. If you’ve never been to Disneyland, I highly suggest a trip. I don’t think you can say which is better between the US parks. They are both so different. I’m glad I’ve been able to experience then both.

About kristincooke

I am a mother of 2 that started running in 2012. I also enjoy baking and some crafts.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

